Monday, May 23

Masterpiece a big winner at Dama Dayak Music Award


KUCHING: New act Masterpiece snatched four awards in a night of entertainment extravaganza and fashion gala at the Dama Dayak Music Award 2010 (AMD) on Saturday night.

BIG WINNERS: Masterpiece poses with their Best Album Cover, Best Music Video and Celcom-Dama’s most popular Dayak Group/Duo award backstage. Sylvester and Arry are at second and third left respectively.

The Sibu-based rock group, whose debut album ‘Merindang ke Bintang’ took the state by storm in 2009, won Best New Artiste, Album of the Year, Best Album Cover and Best Music Video (Bulat Atiku), all in the Iban category.

They lost in another two categories they were nominated but made it up with the Most Popular Duo/Group in the Dama Popular Awards.

Speaking to The Borneo Post backstage, second vocalist Kent said their new album   might be out by end of 2011 and that they would continue to focus on Sarawak and Dayak market first before expanding its fan base.

“The most important thing is that the community accepts our music and continues to support the industry. All the nominees are great artistes, some experienced and we are grateful to have won the awards,” he said.

Meanwhile, in the other awards of the night, Best Group/Duo award went to Rosiana Urai and Dom Romeo and Best Male Vocal went to veteran heavyweight Spitfire for the vocal prowess of front-man Belden Damu.

The Bidayuh rock group proved that they are still on the top of their game when they also won Bidayuh Album of the Year for ‘Spitfire Rock MTV Karaoke — Jilap Apui’.

Bidayuh Best Album Cover went to Hypersonic while AF7 (Akademi Fantasia) alumnus Claudia Geres proved that her participation in the hit reality show was no fluke by winning Best Vocal Female.

Another newcomer Johnny Tuk took home Best New Artiste (Bidayuh).

‘Entara Tua’ by Clement Joys was Song of the Year (Iban), while Senah Ukong won in the Orang Ulu category with Melu Habong Ika’ and Lydia Mike, daughter of veteran artist Mike Rantai, won in the Bidayuh category with ‘Bujang Serian’.

Lerry Silas and producer Embat Lala won the Best Patriotic Song (Iban) through ‘Aram Semua’ while singer/producer Edward Sayu won the Bidayuh category with ‘Jaga Menua Kitai’.

Evergreen Eddie Kuwing and producer Senah Ukong won through ‘Sarawak Maju Dalem Malaysia’ in the Orang Ulu category.

ALSO in contention during the night were the Dama Popular Awards where the winners were determined by votes cast through SMS open only to Celcom users.

Clement Joys was voted Most Popular Dayak singer (male) and crowd favourite Winnie Albert most popular female singer.

Most Popular Duo/Group went to Masterpiece for their fifth trophy while winners for popular songs were: Entara Tua by Clement Joys (Iban); Bersendiri Lagi by Romina Grey Melvin (Bidayuh) and Oba Ke Aya by Eddie Kuwing (Orang Ulu).

Newcomer Lydia Mike opened the guest performances for the night with a beautiful rendition of ‘Uwab Nyina Buran’.

Most anticipated appearance was by Ricky Anderson and Winnie Albert.

Other performers included Masterpiece, Spitfire, Rosiana Urai, Lucy M, Jolly Jingan and internationally acclaimed Tuku Kame.