Nominations for 4th Sarawak Hornbill Tourism Award open

KUCHING: The 4th Sarawak Hornbill Tourism Award (2009 to 2010) is now open for nominations.

Entries submitted are either by self nomination, related associations, organisations, agencies or submission by any members of the tourism industry.

Organised by the Ministry of Tourism and Heritage Sarawak biennially since 2003, the award is to express appreciation to individuals or organisations who contribute towards the development of the tourism sector in Sarawak.

“The gala night will be held on Oct 1 at the Borneo Convention Centre, Kuching (BCCK) where the guest of honour is expected to be our Chief Minister,” said Tourism and Heritage permanent secretary Datu Ik Pahon Joyik during the official launch by the Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan yesterday.

He also said that the award is to recognise the achievement of tourism players as well as creating a culture of excellence, creativity and quality services.

Ik Pahon also said that the award is to acknowledge the role of the media, travel writers and photographers in the tourism sector who will be vying for the total prize money of RM40,000.

He further explained that the award will be divided into ten categories with six new sub-categories.

The first award said Ik Pahon will be the ‘Minister’s Award’ for creativity and innovation while the second category is the ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Tourism Industry’ award -open to the private sector association.

The third category according to Ik Pahon is the ‘Outstanding Hotel and Accommodation Service providers’ which is further divided into the ‘Four and five-star’ category, ‘Two to three-star’, ‘Three to one-star and Orchid rate’, Lodging House (Bed and Breakfast) and Homestay.

The fourth award will be the ‘Outstanding Tour Operators (inbound)’ while the fifth is the ‘Outstanding Tourist Guide’ which is divided into ‘city guide’ and ‘nature guide’.

The sixth category for the award is the ‘Outstanding Food and Entertainment Outlets’ which is divided into ‘Fine Dining and Restaurants’, ‘Halal Restaurants’, ‘Cafe, Bistro or Kopi Tiam’, ‘Hawker stalls or food court’ and night spots.

The seventh category is the “Outstanding Contribution to the Tourism Industry for those in the handicraft and souvenirs business.

Another ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Tourism Industry’ is for agencies.

The category is sub-divided into the ‘Tourism Task Group’ and Local Agencies’.

The ninth award according to Ik Pahon will be the ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Tourism Industry’ divided into ‘transportation’, ‘MICE’ and ‘Green and Responsible Tourism’.

For the media awards, the award is divided into ‘Websites’, ‘Articles’, ‘Pictures’ and ‘Publication’.

Entry forms can be obtained from the secretariat at level two, Bangunan Baitulmakmur, Medan Raya in Petra Jaya or by downloading it from the ministry’s website. Complete entry forms must reach the secretariat before May 31.

What do you think of this story?
  • Angry (0%)
  • Sad (0%)
  • Nothing (0%)
  • Interesting (0%)
  • Great (0%)




Supplement Downloads

Member of