Monday, May 23

‘Genggam Jariku’ adjudged best Iban album


TOP ROCKER: Steven alias Stevenson (left) rocking the night away.

KOTA SAMARAHAN: Iban album ‘Genggam Jariku’ was adjudged the Best Album at the biennial Dayak music award night, Anugerah Muzik Award (AMD 2012) at DeTAR Putra theatre of Universiti Sarawak Malaysia (Unimas) here on Saturday night.

Album producer Embat Lala and singer Gabriel Fairuz Louis went on stage to jointly receive the prestigious award from specially invited guest, state RTM director Norhayati Ismail.

The album topped eight other entries: ‘Telih di ati berdarah di mata’; ‘Kumang’; ‘Berserara enggau ai mata’; ‘Bungai Rose’; ‘Dara Jala Pasit’; ‘Begulai Sejalai’; ‘Ai mataku beraie’ and ‘Taju Remaong’.

It was a good outing for Embat as he won the Best Video award for producing the video clip ‘Kumang’ which was sang by Hailey.

The industrious Embat was also nominated for other categories: Best Dayak Song (‘Kumang’ and ‘Berserara enggau ai mata’); Album of the Year (‘Genggam Jariku’, ‘Kumang’ and ‘Bungai Rose’) and Best Lyrics (‘Berserara enggau ai mata’ and ‘Kumang’ which he co-wrote with Harry Usup Umbar).

‘Genggam Jariku’ album brought Gabriel two other awards. He was judged Best Male Dayak singer, beating five other nominees: Donny Lang, Hailey, Inochi, Rickie Andrewson and Toddy.

He also won the Best New Dayak Artiste award, beating Doris Nuji, rock bands Hevance and Taju Remaong, Lorenze Maring, Moreen Maring, Rannee Pat and Thomas Anggat.

Gabriel who rendered the love song on stage that night was also nominated in the Best Dayak Song – Iban category but ‘Genggam Jariku’ was beaten by nine other entries. Apart from that, he was nominated with nine others for the Best Group/Duo vocal performance in the group category.

The Best Female award went to Melissa Francis for her song ‘Berserara enggau ai mata’. She beat six other nominees: Juliana Maring, Doris Nuji, Moreen Maring, Natalie Ines Juin, Rosiana Urai and Wendy.

Melissa won a similar award in the inaugural award event, then called Dayak Music Award (or Dama 2008). On Saturday night Melissa also won the Best Ballad Artiste award, beating eight other nominees Donny Lang, Doris Nuji, Hailey (featuring with Melissa), rock band Hevance, Farid Spencer, Moreen Maring, Rickie Andrewson and Rosiana Urai.

Apart from the Best Album category the other highlight of the night was the Dayak Artistes and Musicians Association (Dama) Special award which went to the all-female rock band Candy.

Candy comprising   Mary, Connie, Pat and Nancy performed so well in their early years (1980s and 1990s) that Life Records KL agreed to be their producer.

In 1997, the Malaysian Book of Records registered Candy as the first all-female rock band in the nation. Lately the band managed to break into Japan, US and UK markets with their latest album in which 60 percent of the songs are in English. Candy revealed that they managed to break into these markets because the

album ‘Absolute’ was promoted online instead of the conventional way.

As far as locals are concerned, their best ever hits throughout the years are the Bahasa Melayu song ‘Akan ku tunggu’ and Iban song ‘Ketegal ia’. They rendered these two songs live on stage on Saturday night. On ordinary days, Candy performed at gigs and social functions.

The rest of the winners were Aldrich Lional Kamijan of Hevance (Best Dayak Song Iban); Romina Grey Melvin (Best Dayak Song – Bidayuh); Rosiana Urai (Best Dayak Song – Orang Ulu); Taju Remaong (Best Group / Duo vocal performance in group); Edward Sayu (Album of the year – Bidayuh); D’Sound-Tech Studio (Album of the Year – Orang Ulu) and; Donny Lang (Best Album Cover);  Harry Usup Umbar (Best Lyrics) and Norman Ading and Ethnic Transmissions (Best Music arrangement).

The best rock artiste for 2012 was rocker and rock ballader Steven alias Stevenson with his winning album ‘Telih di ati berdarah dimata’ while best pop creative artiste went to Rannee Pat (‘Tua Semina Bepangan’).

Stevenson beat five others namely Depha of Masterpiece, Gina, Hevance, Romina Grey Melvin and Taju Remaong while Rannee outshined Melissa Francis as well as Apai Saloi, Apin, Bujang Lemanak, Hailey, Rosiana Urai, Toddy and Wendy.

Like Dama 2008 and AMD 2010, Saturday night’s AMD 2012 was organised by Dama which is chaired by Balai Ringin assemblyman Snowdan Lawan. Social Development Minister Tan Sri William Mawan Ikom who graced the event also contributed RM10,000 to the organising committee.

Mawan’s ministry, federal Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage supported it. Apart from Mawan and Norhayati, the other special invited guests were Unimas Dean of Social Sciences Faculty of Prof Dr Spencer Empading and New Sarawak Tribune and Utusan Sarawak executive editor William Chan.

Dama Lifetime Achievement awards were presented to Orang Ulu sape player Ukong Mering, Bidayuh singer Julia Empaing and Iban singer, the late Michael Jemat for their contribution to the development of the Dayak music industry.

Among those making their appearances as guest singer/band on stage or as emcees on Saturday night were Bana Jimbat, Rachel Sia, Monica Midi, Jeffry Jack, comedians Kent and Stonton (popularly known as Bunyau and Mujap); Projek Pistol, Jimmy Palikat and Candy.

The night begun with performances     by    popular      singers from the 1960s until now: Datin Senorita Linang, Christopher Kelly, Mike Rantai, Rosiana Urai, Jolly   Jingan   and  Fiona  John.