Monday, May 23

Dompok falls to PKR’s Darrel in Penampang


PENAMPANG: United Pasokmomogun KadazanDusun Murut Organization(UPKO) president Tan Sri Bernard Dompok failed in his bid to defend the Penampang parliamentary seat when he lost to newcomer Darell Leiking of PKR.

The party also lost in the Moyog and Bingkor state seats where Datuk Philip Lasimbang and Kennedy Jie John were fielded. It however was able to defend the Putatan, Ranau and Tuaran parliamentary seats as well as the Kuamut, Nabawan, Paginatan and Kuala Penyu state seats.

Its incumbents, Datuk Dr Marcus Mojigoh, Datuk Ewon Ebin, Datuk Bobbey Suan, Datuk Siringan Gubat and Masiung Banah were successful in defending their seats while new faces Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau and Limus Jury were able to retain the Tuaran parliamentary and Kuala Penyu state seats respectively.

UPKO leaders and members gathered at the Puru Lodge in Inobong here to watch the live telecast of the 13th general election results.

While most were happy for those who won, many were disappointed with Dompok loss and the mood was somber.

UPKO leaders requested to be given a few days to take stock of the results before issuing a statement about it.