Sunday, November 28

Seven from Sarawak conferred Tan Sri title


Tan Sri Peter Chin Fah Kui

KUCHING: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) president Datuk Seri Peter Chin Fah Kui are among 37 recipients of the nation’s second highest award the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) which carries the title “Tan Sri” in conjunction with the Yang- Dipertuan Agong’s birthday today.

Other prominent f igure s from Sarawak who are also conferred the same award are former cabinet minister and DCCI deputy president Dato Sri Celestine Ujang, former deputy state secretary and chairman of Mahsuri Ria Sdn Bhd Dato Sri Safri Awang Zaidell and Perkis president and former PBB deputy president Dato Sri Abang Abu Bakar Datu Bandar Abang Mustapha.

Prominent businessmen from Sarawak who have been conferred the same title include member of the board of Petra Energy Group Dato Bustari Yusuf, executive chairman of HCK Capital Group and also group managing director of SEG International Bhd Dato Sri Clement Hii Chii Kok @ Hii Chee Kok and SPDP member Dato Sri Yit Ming Yik @ Yek Min Ek.

Malaysian International movie star Datuk Seri Michelle Yeoh is also among the recipients of the award.

Meanwhile, former Bengoh assemblyman William Tanyuh of SUPP will be bestowed with the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) which carries the title ‘Datuk’.

Other prominent figures from Sarawak receiving the same award are former Saribas assemblyman and former PBB supreme council member Dr Wahbi Junaidi, SPDP Wanita chief Chiew Yen Fong @ Chiew Yen Chew and PRS deputy president and Tamin assemblyman Joseph Mauh Ikeh.

New York-based fashion designer Zang Toi and internationally acclaimed shoe-designer Datuk Jimmy Choo are also given the same honour.