Tuesday, November 29

SMK Tabuan Jaya athletes shine


KUCHING: State Sukma athletes Norris Foo and Quek Lee Yong starred for SMK Tabuan Jaya at the 61st Sarawak Open Athletics Championship last Sunday as the state sports school captured 22 gold, 19 silver and 12 bronze medals.

File photo of Quek Lee Yong in action at a schools meet earlier this year.

Quek was the toast of his team as he broke the only record of the two-day meet. He clocked 14.45s in the 110m hurdles for Boys Under-16 to erase the old time of 14.84s.

The versatile Quek also bagged the gold in the 200m sprint when he crossed the finishing line with a time of 23.18s.

Norris Foo, who competed in the Women Open, was crowned the sprint queen as she posted a time of 12.64s to win the 100m, with Dana from Dynamic Athletic Club taking the silver in 13.54s while SMK Tabuan Jaya’s Ayu Nazira Yussri won the bronze with 13.93s.

Norris also took the gold in the 200m and 100m hurdles in 26.46s and 15.61s respectively.

Tabuan Jaya were also dominant in winning four relay finals.

Meanwhile, another Sukma athlete Grace Wong Xiu Mei of Sarikei Division Amateur Athletic Association (SDAAA) eased her way to the Women’s Open shot
putt gold with her throw of 10.59m.

Her nearest rival from Miri Division Amateur Athletic Association Voon Vui Wei managed 9.63m while in third place with a 9.52m mark was Sarikei’s Olivia Wong.

Grace also picked up a silver in the discus by recording 33.46m to finish after fellow Sukma and Sarikei teammate Queenie Ting Kung Ni whose golden throw was 37.96m.

Wong Siao Jing made it a clean sweep for SDAAA when she finished in third spot with her throw of 30.96m.

Ting Aik Hou from Miri Division Amateur Athletic Association also performed up to expectations when he landed the Men’s Open shot putt with a throw of 12.15m.

Eric Tiong Ing Kuen of Sarikei came in second with 10.95m while Ho Ping of SMK Green Road took the bronze with a throw of 10.44m.

389 athletes from 22 teams competed in the championship organised by the Sarawak Amateur Athletic Association.