Top players advance to last 16 of Sibu snooker championship

File photo of Isda Lau.

SIBU: All the top players cruised through to the last 16 of the 2nd edition of the Sibu Swan City Snooker Championship held at Executive 3 Snooker Centre here.

Reigning champion Isda Lau easily beat newcomer Wong Jin Lin 2-0 while last season Sarawak Closed winner Ng Hong Man stamped his superiority when he outgunned former champion Danny Wong 2-0 in the last 32.

Other notable players in the last 16 include Sie Leong Ung, Peter Liong, Ting Siew Choon, Steven Wong, Amandi, Mark Yeo, David Wong, Sim Hong Hui, Yong Kung Chai, Aaron Teo and William Lau, Lau Chung Kiong, Patrick Tan and Michael Yao.

Of the 16 players, unheralded William Lau emerged as one of the potential stars in the making.

The young player from Meradong beat Chuo Tung Hock 2-0 in the first round and then edged Ngu Leh Ming 2-0 in the last 32.

“Hopefully, I can continue to play some good games as I aim to build a name for myself in the snooker fraternity,” he said.

Patrick Tan is the sole flag-bearer for Sarikei division which sent four players.

Tan will take on Lau Chung Kiong in the last 16.

The champion will bring home RM1,000, first runner-up RM500, semi-finalists RM250 each and quarter-finalists RM100 each.

An additional carrot of RM300 is in store for the player who can achieve the highest break with a minimum 50 points per cue.

What do you think of this story?
  • Angry (0%)
  • Sad (0%)
  • Nothing (0%)
  • Interesting (0%)
  • Great (0%)




Supplement Downloads

Member of