Team Giant 1 triumph in cross country team relay

OFF YOU GO: Riders compete at the Siol International Mountain Bike Challenge 2017 at Bukit Siol, Jalan Samariang yesterday. The flag off for the Women Elite and Women Junior categories in the Cross Country Olympic race was performed by Kuching North City Commission (DBKU) deputy director for Development Services and Landscape Department Durie Austin Tinggie, who was representing Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof. — By Wilfred Pilo

KUCHING: Team Giant 1 won the Cross Country Team Relay race over 3.2km for the second consecutive year at the Siol International Mountain Bike Challenge at the foot of Bukit Siol, Jalan Semariang yesterday.

The team comprising Abdul Syazwan Abdul Rahman, Maszlyaton Mohd Radzi, Muhammad Khairul Mohamad Ghoz and Muhammad Fauzan Ahmad Lufti clocked 15 minutes 24 seconds to claim the Mayor’s Challenge Trophy and collected RM1,500 plus trophies for their efforts.

A close second with the time of 15:04 were Moktar Cycling Team represented by Sharin Amir, Mohd Fitri Jumah, Nur Assyria Zainal Abidin and Niclos Minol while Awano Treknology Team’s Riyadh Hakim Lukman, Muhammad Aidil Taufid Afendi, Tsalina Phang Yi-Lin and Junaidi Hashim finished third in 15:36.

The first and second runners-up received RM1,000 and RM800 plus trophies respectively.

Kirill Kazantsev of Kazakhstan national team clocked 1:27:46 to win the Men’s Elite race over 22.8km, finishing 05:07 ahead of Edmhel John Flores of the Philippines national team while Giant Malaysia Racing Team’s Muhammad Fauzan Ahmad Lufti ended in third place with a time of 1:34:53

The Women’s Elite race was won by Ariana Thea Patrice of the Philippines national team who registered a time of 1:35:52, followed by Chen Zi Yin Taiwan in 1:42:51 and Masziyaton Mohd Radzi Giant Malaysia Racing Team in 1:50:20.

The winners of the Cross Country Olympic team relay pose with Wahap (third left) and organising committee members after the prize presentation.

As for the Men’s Junior category, Abdul Syazwan Abdul Rahman of the Malaysian national team clocked 1:05:21 to finish ahead of teammate Nik Adam Iskandar Nik Azhan Malaysia (1:06:25) and Mohd Faizikry Jumah from the Giant Sabah Cycling Team (1:09:34).

The four-competitor field of the Women’s Junior was won by Yeh Yu Shuang of Taiwan with her time of 1:02:28, followed by Nur Deena Safia Nor Effandy Kuala Lumpur (1:07:52) and Majlis Sukan Pahang riders Nia Vanessa Suhana Zaidi (1:13:07) and Nurul Najwa Mohamad Fauzi (1:20:18).

Other events competed yesterday were Men’s Master A, Men’s Master B and the Sarawak Closed.

Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah flagged off the riders in the morning races while Kuching North City Commission mayor Datuk Abang Wahap Abang Julai presented the prizes to the winners.

The response to this year’s challenge is very encouraging, with 150 riders from Hong Kong, Taiwan, Indonesia, Philippines, Japan, Singapore, Kazakshtan and Malaysia taking part in the two-day tournament organised by DBKU.

Today will see the contest for the downhill team relay commence at 4pm and Wahap will close the event and give away the prizes.

Kirill Kazantsev poses with his parents after receiving his prizes.

What do you think of this story?
  • Angry (0%)
  • Sad (0%)
  • Nothing (0%)
  • Interesting (0%)
  • Great (0%)




Supplement Downloads

Member of