SRU reaching out to all divisions

Song (third right) presents the cheque to Azizul while others look on.

KUCHING: The Sarawak Rugby Union (SRU) plan to help set up affiliate associations in all divisions in the state in its mission to develop Sarawak to be the rugby powerhouse in Malaysia.

In the latest development, the Kuching Division Rugby Association (KDRA), which registered with the Sarawak Sports Commissioner’s Office on Dec 13 last year, have joined SRU as its affiliate on Monday.

It is SRU’s fourth affiliate after Sibu, Bintulu and Miri.

“We are also looking to have a divisional association in Kapit, Mukah, Sarikei, Limbang and Samarahan,” said SRU president Richard Song Swee Jin after receiving a courtesy call from the KDRA committee at his office in Pending on Monday.

Leading the KDRA delegation was its president Azizul Annuar Adenan and he was accompanied by vice president Abang Mohamad Idris Abang Mohd Othman, secretary Azfar Zubri Safri Zainudin, treasurer Awang Ahmad Zuwairi and tournament director Mohd Herwan Sairon.

Among the SRU committee present were deputy president Louis Jarau, secretary Abdul Ghafar Arshad, treasurer Lawrence Tan, advisors James Ritchie, Philip Aso and Lawrence Lee while KRFC was represented by its president Ahmad Yusop Shah Mokhsen.

“We will be providing KDRA with support in terms of financial assistance, technical assistance and sanctioning its tournaments.

“I have also advised KDRA to submit its calendar of activities for the year to avoid the clash of programmes by SRU and other affiliates,” he added.

Song also approved and presented KDRA with an allocation of RM5,000 for its activities.

He also urged the new affiliate association to work very closely with SRU and other parties such as Sarawak Sports Corporation, Sarawak State Sports Council and the Sarawak Education Department to develop rugby at grass roots and club levels.

Meanwhile, Azizul announced that KDRA will be organising the Kuching Rugby League from Feb 24 to April 21.

The inaugural league played on weekends will feature eight teams KRFC, WORC, Wolfpack, GB 13, 1st Div, Police, Lycans and Hunters.

The top three teams will receive cash prizes of RM2,500, RM1,000 and RM500.

To be run in league format, the competition will be staged at Song Kheng Hai Rugby Field and First Division Camp rugby field at Muara Tuang.

What do you think of this story?
  • Great (100%)
  • Angry (0%)
  • Sad (0%)
  • Nothing (0%)
  • Interesting (0%)




Supplement Downloads

Member of