Tuesday, November 29

Jeffrey forms pact with BN to form coalition state government


Geoffrey (third left), Masiung (fourth right), Limus (third right), Ewon (second right) and Abidin (far right) showing Musa (fifth left) their support for his leadership.

KOTA KINABALU: Two Parti Solidarity Tanah Airku (STAR) assemblymen, namely Datuk Gapari bin Katingan@Geoffrey Kitingan (Tambunan) and Robert Tawik@Nordin (Bingkor) have joined the 29 Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) elected assemblymen to form a coalition State Government with a simple majority of 31 seats.

Sabah BN chairman Tan Sri Musa Aman said he was given the mandate by the 31 assemblymen to lead the State Government as the Chief Minister.

“We hope to seek an audience with the Head of State Tun Juhar Mahiruddin for us to swear in with the support from 31 assemblymen,” he said in a press conference at 2pm today.

He also denied that five BN assemblyman from Upko have joined Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) as all five elected representatives were with the coalition to form the Sabah State Government.

The five Upko assemblymen are Ewon Benedick (Kadamaian), Datuk Limus Jury (Kuala Penyu), Datuk Abidin Madingkir (Paginatan), Datuk Bobbey Suan (Nabawan) and Datuk Masiung Banah (Kuamut).