Emillia Edwin, Eyvonny Lawai, Larissa Ping Liew win Gawai Dayak pageant titles

Larissa (seated), Pamela (left) and Sharina (right) smile for the camera. Standing behind the Keligit orang Ulu winner is Reymar.

Eyvonny, flanked by Prisilla on her right and Monisha, in a photo session. Standing behind the Kumang Iban winner is Mike.

MIRI: Emillia Edwin, 21, Eyvonny Lawai, 21, and Larissa Ping Liew, 19, are this year’s respective ‘Dayung Sangon’, ‘Kumang Iban’ and ‘Keligit Orang Ulu’ for this division.

The three were announced winners of their respective categories at the finale of ‘Miri Division Dayung Sangon, Kumang Iban, Keligit Orang Ulu and Keling-Belawan 2018’, staged on Meritz Hotel here on Saturday.

The respective runners-up in the Bidayuh’s Dayung Sangon category were Audry Desmond Daie (21), Engelina Bungan Kevin (18), Cindylia Dominic Ajang (20), Esther Phylisia Edward Jekim (20), and Magdalena Judi (18).

In the Iban’s Kumang category, Prisilla Ubong Martin Lah (21) and Monisha Winnie Bui (21) placed first and second runner-up, respectively. Dasica Samat (24), Diana Elizabeth Patros (22), and Sherina Enjap Belingan (18), received consolation prizes.

In the Orang Ulu’s Keligit category, Pamela Gloria John (24) and Sharina Tifanny Darias (21), placed respective second and third. Bagging the consolation prizes were Jessica Burai Markus (19), Sherah Mutang, (22), and Sharon Maiya Jos (18).

Each category winner took home RM1,200 and a Fajar International College (FIC) scholarship worth RM20,000, the first runner-up received RM900 and RM15,000 FIC scholarship, while the second runner-up bagged RM700 and RM10,000 FIC scholarship.

The consolation prize was RM400.

(From left) Reymar, Jacob and Mike are  all smiles after the announcement of results.

Meanwhile, Jacob Jinggut Vincent, a 22-year-old Iban, won the Keling-Belawan (men) category, earning him RM1,000 and a RM20,000 FIC scholarship.

Eighteen-year-old Lun Bawang youth Reymar Manuel Tabari placed second, taking home RM800 and RM15,000 FIC scholarship. Mike Jonathan John, a 21-year-old Bidayuh, came third which earned him RM700 and RM10,000 FIC scholarship.

Patrick Nuing (25), Acqal Mutang (23) and Jonathan Morrison Ibuh (27) received a consolation prize of RM400 each.

Emillia, flanked by Audry (left) and Engelina in this photo-call. Standing behind the Dayung Bidayuh Sangon winner is Jacob.

All the scholarship winners can apply for any programme provided by FIC, or transfer the scholarship to any of their siblings.

Additionally, all finalists also received hampers sponsored by Maggi and certificates of recognition from the organiser.

The pageant was held in conjunction with the Miri Division Gawai Dayak Dinner 2018, hosted by Dayak Bidayuh National Association (DBNA) Miri.




What do you think of this story?
  • Great (60%)
  • Sad (20%)
  • Interesting (20%)
  • Inspired (0%)
  • Surprised (0%)
  • Angry (0%)




Supplement Downloads

Member of