Kanowit, Lanang favour Azmin over Rafizi in PKR deputy president race

Rafizi Ramli

SIBU: George Chen was elected Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Kanowit branch chairman during the party’s election yesterday.

He garnered 324 votes over Joseph Jana, who polled 297 votes.

Thomas Laja won the deputy chairman’s post, polling 328 votes against Tadong Tambi’s 279.

The vice-chairman post went to Satu Anchom, who polled 329 votes against Mampi Usop’s 276.

In the race for the national deputy president’s post, incumbent Datuk Seri Azmin Ali polled 257 votes in Kanowit ahead of aspirant Rafizi Ramli, who gained 242 votes.

Azmin was also ahead in Lanang polls, with 187 votes versus Rafizi’s seven.

Meanwhile, the election for PKR Lanang branch here went smoothly yesterday.

A party official told reporters that nearly 60 people turned up to cast their votes as at 10am yesterday – perhaps due to the rain.

It is learned that PKR Lanang has about 2,000 members.

Voting commenced at 9am and closed at 4pm.

The PKR election is currently on its last lap of nationwide voting, with Sarawak polls to conclude today.

There are 51,000 registered members across Sarawak who are eligible to vote in the PKR elections.

There are 30 PKR branches in Sarawak.

The branches holding the elections today are Mas Gading, Petra Jaya, Santubong, Stampin, Puncak Borneo, Sarikei, Sibu, Sibuti and Sri Aman.

What do you think of this story?
  • Great (0%)
  • Interesting (0%)
  • Surprised (0%)
  • Sad (0%)
  • Angry (0%)
  • Inspired (0%)




Supplement Downloads

Member of