Five national athletes in race for MASUM Sportsman, Sportswoman awards


KUALA LUMPUR: Five national athletes have emerged as front runners for the Malaysian Universities Sports Council (MASUM) 2010 sports award to be held in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah on April 9.

Three men athletes in the list for the Sportsman award are diver Bryan Nickson Lomas (UM), bowler Muhamad Syafiq Ridhwan Abdul Malek (UPM) and squash player Mohd Nafiizwan Mohd Adnan (UiTM) while two women athletes in the race for the Sportswoman award are wushu’s Chai Fong Ying (UPM) and Fan Xiao Jun (UM) from table tennis.

MASUM Awards Selection Panel chairman Prof. Madya Dr. Kassim Mohd Mansur said the selection of the winners would be based on their achievements in local and international competitions throughout last year and this year.

“All 20 Higher Learning Public Institutions (IPTA) had submitted their nominations but only the best achievers were short-listed by the panel,” he told reporters here yesterday.

Kassim who is also the deputy vice chancellor for student affairs and alumni for University Malaysia Sabah (UMS) said the objective of the awards that was introduced in 2001 was to reward the best achievers in sports.

Apart from the two main awards, there will also be awards for Most Promising Athlete Best Team, Best Manager, Best Coach, Sports Icon, Sports Partner and a number of other awards in the men’s and women’s category. — Bernama