Thursday, May 23

PERSB fields 15 Independents


MIRI: Parti Ekonomi Rakyat Sarawak Bersatu (PERSB), which has yet to obtain approval from the Registrar of Societies (ROS), is fielding 15 candidates to stand in the Sarawak state election on an independent ticket.

Its protem president Mohamad Noh Bakri said the party had planned to field 17 candidates but its candidate for the Telang Usan state constituency, Anthony Belarek withdrew at the last minute.

“Our candidate for the Jepak state constituency, Khamis Mahdi could not contest after his nomination was rejected by the EC (Election Commission),” he told Bernama, here today.

He said the PERSB candidates contesting are Gilbert Asson Kulong (Tanjung Datu), Suhaimi Selamat (Pantai Damai), Amin Banti (Kedup), Mahayudin Wahab (Sadong Jaya), Sujal Gansi (Balai Ringin), Lias Julai (Bukit Begunan), Banyi Briak (Krian), Kiprawi Suhaili (Belawai), Ajiji Fauzan (Semop), Salleh Mahli (Dalat), Entali Empin (Kakus), Michael Jok (Belaga), Liam Rengga (Kemena) and Michael Ding Tuah (Marudi).

Mohamad Noh said he would be contesting in Daro which was being held by the Barisan Nasional through the Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) representative, Murni Suhaili.

He said they would be using the aeroplane symbol in the state election on April 16. – Bernama