Five Malaysians receive International English Language Testing System Scholarship


KUCHING: For the first time in Malaysia, five Malaysians who took the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test with the British Council have been awarded its IELTS Scholarship.

They are James Chow from Ipoh (University of Bristol, UK Master of Science in Economics, Finance and Management); Yee Z-Win from Seremban (Mannheim University of Applied Sciences, Germany Bachelor of Science in Power Engineering and Renewable Energies); Tan Ken Wei from Kuala Lumpur (University of Warwick, UK Bachelor of Science in Mathematics, Operational Research, Statistics and Economics); Joshua Foong of Puchong (King’s College London, UK Master of Arts in Public Policy); and Tee Tze Phei of Petaling Jaya (University of Warwick, UK Master of Science in Information Systems and Management).

British Council Malaysia deputy country exams manager Deep Adhikari said students can use the scholarship valued at RM53,375 at any university in any country outside Malaysia that recognises IELTS for admission requirements.

“The British Council IELTS scholarship is another way we are offering value to our IELTS candidates. As this is the first time that the British Council Malaysia is offering the IELTS scholarship, it is a fantastic opportunity for the recipients to help fund their studies abroad and a great incentive for them to do well in the test,” he said.

A total of 20 applicants were short-listed after the application deadline on July 31 based on the written task upon application.

The short-listed applicants presented the topic titled ‘Virtual Social Networking vs Real Human Interaction’ to the selection panel on Sept 17.

The selection panel comprised of judges from the education sector and British Council management team in Malaysia. The scholarship programme directly benefits both individuals and countries from which they come, while at the same time promotes higher education links between Malaysia and the destination countries. The British Council hosted the scholarship awards ceremony in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday.