Current term of parliament ends April 24, 2013


KOTA BAHARU: The term of the current parliament ends on April 24, 2013, according to the Elections Commission (EC).

EC deputy secretary Datuk Noordin Che Ngah said parliament will dissolve automatically on that date unless, of course, it is dissolved earlier.

“The date of dissolution of parliament depends on the prime minister. However, if it is not dissolved by April 24, 2013, it will dissolve automatically on that date,” he said at a state-level briefing at the National Agribusiness Terminal (Teman) here.

Also present were International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, Defence Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Dr Jamil Khir Baharom and Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Dr Awang Adek Hussin. — Bernama