Malaysia recognises 820 higher learning institutions from China


KUALA LUMPUR: The Higher Education Ministry has sanctioned 820 higher learning institutions in China, the Dewan Rakyat was told yesterday.

Deputy Higher Education Minister Datuk Dr Hou Kok Chung said all the higher learning institutions were recommended by the Education Ministry of China through the “Framework Agreement to Facilitate Mutual Recognition in Academic HigherEducation Qualifications” signed between the Malaysian government and the republic on April 28, 2011.

“The list of 820 universities recognised will be updated in the Malaysian Qualifications Agency’s (MQA) website by July,” he said when answering a question from Liang Teck Meng (BN-Simpang Renggam) in Parliament yesterday.

Liang had wanted to know why the ministry recognised degrees from China but not from Taiwan.

Hou said since the mutual recognition agreement between Malaysia and China was a “government-to-government” (G2G) initiative, more universities from the republic were eligible.

However, the MQA are in the process of finalising details with the Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan (HEEACT), aimed at recognising universities from Taiwan, he said.

“Once the details are finalised soon, a Statement of Confidence will be issued by the MQA and HEEACT,” he said.

Hou said apart from Taiwan, the government also had plans to sign similar agreements with New Zealand, Australia and the United States. — Bernama