Saturday, January 28

Asian Mountain Race Circuit to crown winners at Climbathon finish


KOTA KINABALU: The newly introduced Asian Mountain Race Circuit will crown its winners at the 26th Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon.

Race director of Climbathon Datuk Balwant Singh Kler said that the circuit also included Mt Ugo Race in the Philippines and the Mt Fuji Race in Japan, which was organised in the first half of the year.

Runners will collect points in each race to determine the winners at the final leg.

“Sabahans Safrey (Sumping) and Danny (Kuilin) currently lead the standing for men and women categories.

“There will be no prize money…the winners will be given medals,” added Climbathon organising secretary Zachary Mobijohn.

“It (Asian Mountain Race Circuit) is still new…we started the circuit this year as more of a trial.

“Hopefully we will get more entries for next year’s race,” he said.

It was another honour for the Climbathon as it is also part of the International Skyrunning Federation’s (ISF) World Series for the past nine years.

The 2012 series included five race venues where the Climbathon, once again, has been given the honour to host the final leg.