Climbathon winners to become new record holders


KOTA KINABALU: New records will be up for grabs in the 26th Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon – The Adventure Series.

The new 23km race course is longer than 2km from its previous races, thus winners of the Men’s and Women’s Open as well as Men’s and Women’s Veteran on October 14 in Kundasang will be installed as the new record holders.

“This is a new race course so four new records will be set,” said Race Director Datuk Balwant Singh Kler said yesterday.

The previous route – a 21km race up and down Mount Kinabalu – record holder for men’s Open is Marco de Gasperi of Italy in two hours 33-minutes and 56-seconds (2:33.56s) set in 2010.

Czech’s great Anna Picthrova winning time of 3:06.54s achieved in 2004 in the Women’s Open still stands while Guianus Salagan holds the Men’s Veteran record of 3:01.57s.

The Women’s Veteran is a new addition to the Climbathon this year.