Friday, October 18

TYT wife heads honours list


KOTA KINABALU: Toh Puan Norlidah Datuk R M Jasni, the wife of Head of State, headed the list of 905 recipients of Sabah State Awards in conjunction with the Head of State Tun Juhar Mahirudin’s 59th birthday celebrations today.

Toh Puan Norlidah and newly appointed Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Dr Ali Hamsa are recipients of the state’s highest award, Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK) which carries the title ‘Datuk Seri Panglima’.

Kundasang and Lumadan assemblymen Dr Joachim Gunsalam and Kamarlin Ombi were among 55 recipients of the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK) which carries the title ‘Datuk’.

The others included Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ab Aziz Kasim, Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Hamza Taib, Sabah Immigration Department Director Mohammad Mentek, Sabah Tribunal for Housing Purchase Claims President Ahmad Sedik, Sabah Wildlife Department Director Laurentius Nayan Ambu; Rural Development Corporation General Manager Datu Basrun Datu Mansur, Sabah Law Association President Ganesh Nandy A/L B B Nandy; Industrial Development Ministry’s Permanent Secretary Hashim Paijan, Danum Valley Field Centre Senior Scientist Glen Reynolds, Universiti Malaysia Sabah Vice Chancellor Professor Dr Mohd Harun Abdullah, Sabah Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) Director Dr Abdul Kadir Rosline @ Ruslim, Sabah Health Department Director Dr Mohd Yusof Ibrahim and businesswoman Datin Rahmahjan Sulaiman Khan.

Mayor Datuk Abidin Madingkir was among nine people awarded the Justice of Peace (JP) with the others being Sabah Puteri Umno chief Musliati Moslimin, Sepanggar Umno Youth chief Md Joh @ Orot Wid, Chin Tai Kong, Dirih @ Sebatian Anjim, Datuk Irmohizam Ibrahim, Jane Manjaji @ Marilyn, Lee Pong Choi and Lim Thein Phin @ Kevin.

Meanwhile, local artist Abu Bakar Ellah was among 69 people awarded the Ahli Setia Darjah Kinabalu (ASDK) along with former Sabah Sports Council general manager Mahmood Kalong and Bernama Bureau chief Newmond Tibin.

Apart from Tibin, three other media practitioners were included in the honours list, namely See Hua Daily News photographer Tseu Kui Jin @ Tseu Kui Yin, New Sabah Times reporter Marryan Razan and Information Department’s Zaidi Jamin, who were awarded Bintang Setia Kinabalu (BSK) along wiht an officer in the Chief Minister’s Department, Carolyn Maurice.

A total of 225 people were awarded the BSK, 301 awarded the Bintang Kinabalu and 103 awarded the Certificate of Honours.

The official birthday celebration of the Head of State, which is usually held on Sept 16 each year, was held on the first Saturday of October. The change was due to Sept 16 now being declared a public holiday to celebrate Malaysia Day.