Wednesday, September 23

Early voting for 11,997 security personnel


KOTA KINABALU: A total of 11,997 security forces’ personnel fulfilled their obligation as Malaysians when they cast their votes early in the 13th general election at 41 polling stations in Sabah.

Among them were Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Hamza Taib who cast his vote at the officers’ mess in the Sabah Police Headquarters in Kepayan, and Sabah Navy Regional Two commander Rear Admiral Mohd Datuk Rosland Omar at the Sepanggar naval base yesterday.

Sabah Election Commission director Datuk Md Idrus Ismail said the number comprised 6,522 voters from the Malaysian Armed Forces (MAF), 4,613 from the Royal Malaysian Police (RMP) and 862 from the General Operations Force (GOF).

“The naval base in Sepanggar recorded the highest turnout at 1,969 people followed by the Fifth Brigade camp in Lok Kawi at 1,950.

“The least turnout yesterday was recorded at the Cenderawasih police station in Felda Sahabat with only two voters and the Menggatal police station with three voters,” he said, when met at the Lok Kawi army camp here yesterday.

Md Idrus said that in Labuan, some 1,324 members of the security forces turned up for the early voting, and they comprised 1,115 from MAF and 209 from RMP.

He said all the polling stations opened as early as 8am until 7pm.

To ensure a smooth voting process, Md Idrus said 410 officers from the Election Commission were deployed to conduct yesterday’s early voting.

“The ballot boxes will be kept at selected police stations before the votes are counted on May 5 at 4pm,” he said.

In Sandakan, 2,135 members of the security forces cast their votes at three polling centres in Batu Sapi.

Of the total, 1,079 navy personnel cast their votes at the hall of Royal Malaysia Navy Reserves (RMNR), Taman Samudera, 810 General Operation Force (GOF) personnel and 246 policemen cast their votes at GOF Battalion 15 headquarters and Giatmara Hall, district police headquarters here respectively.

Sabah Progressive Party candidate for Karamunting, Yong Vun Min, monitored the polling process at the RMNR hall around 9.30am.

Meanwhile, 117 policemen and 184 marine personnel cast their votes at the Sandakan town police station and Marine Base and Berhala Island polling centre for the Sandakan parliamentary seat.