Monday, May 20

LDP president Liew loses in Sandakan


Wong Tien Fatt (middle) and DAP members celebrating his victory last night.

SANDAKAN: The Sandakan parliamentary seat which was viewed as one of Sabah’s hot seats in this general election was won by Democratic Action Party’s (DAP) Wong Tien Fatt from BN-LDP incumbent Datuk Liew Vui Keong.

Wong garnered 14,226 votes to win by a majority of 1,088 votes in a straight fight against the LDP president. There are 37,058 registered voters in Sandakan parliamentary constituency.

Meanwhile, Elopura and Tanjong Papat were narrowly retained by BN candidates.

Au garnered 8,105 votes to win with a small majority of 251 votes in a three-cornered fight against DAP’s Hiew Vui Zin (7,854 votes) and SAPP’s Liau Fook Kong (469 votes).

As for N.46 Tanjong Papat, its incumbent, Datuk Raymond Tan Shu Kiah, retained the state seat for the fifth term. Tan won with a 1,522-vote majority in a three-cornered fight with DAP’s Poon Ming Fung who garnered 4,631 votes and SAPP’s Yong Chie Man with 191 votes.

Wong Tien Fatt, 58, expressed his gratitude to the leadership of DAP for trusting him in contesting the Sandakan parliamentary seat and the trust given by voters for the opportunity to be elected as a member of parliament.

He attended the vote counting process at Sandakan Community Hall last night with some 20 of his supporters.

Speaking to reporters after the result, Wong promised to ensure that Sandakan continued to develop under the leadership of DAP.

The official announcement of P.186 Sandakan was made by Returning Officer (RO) Haji Hamsan Awang Supain at 11.28 last night.

#myvote13 #ge13 #pru13