Friday, August 19

Agriculture Dept to have 3 administrative zones from next year

Jabu presenting the department’s Excellent Service Award to a recipient.

Jabu presenting the department’s Excellent Service Award to a recipient.

BETONG: The Agriculture Department will restructure its administrative department and divide it into three zones: Northern, Central and Southern.

Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Alfred Jabu Numpang said this restructuring exercise had been discussed in the state cabinet, and it will take effect on Jan 1, 2016.

“The new plan needs sufficient allocation. To realise this restructuring, we need the allocation under 11th Malaysia Plan. We are thankful to the government for approving contribution-based positions, where 37 senior positions will be made available to head the administration of every zone,” he said before officiating at the Agriculture Department’s Appreciation Ceremony at Datuk Amar Stephen Kalong Ningkan Sports Hall recently.

Jabu added that the government would also upgrade 46 agriculture stations, which will be equipped fully with facilities and have at least seven staff, led by the agriculture officer.

At the ceremony, 13 officers received grade increment from Grade 41 to Grade 44 and from Grade 44 to Grade 48. In addition, 181 staff of various positions received Excellent Service Awards.

Also present were Assistant Agriculture Ministers Datuk Sylvester Entri Muran and Datuk Mong Dagang and Betong Resident Datu Romie Sigan Daniel.