Tuesday, May 24

New PAC team holds first meeting


KUALA LUMPUR: The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) yesterday held its first meeting after the appointment of six new members, including its chairman.

The meeting was held at Committee Room 2 at the Parliament Building, chaired by its new chairman, Rompin MP Datuk Hasan Ariffin, who was appointed on Oct 19.

He took over from Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed who was appointed Deputy Home Minister in the Cabinet reshuffle in July.

Besides Hasan, the other newly-appointed PAC members are Putatan MP, Datuk Dr Marcus Mojigoh and Kota Baharu MP, Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan.

Also appointed were Datuk Ahmad Hamzah (BN-Jasin), Datuk Nawawi Ahmad (BN-Langkawi), Datuk Koh Nai Kwong (BN-Alor Gajah) who replaced Datuk Mas Ermieyati Shamsudin who was appointed Deputy Tourism and Culture Minister, Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican (Deputy Foreign Minister) and Datuk Chua Tee Yong (Deputy Finance Minister).

PAC now has 14 members including Tony Pua (DAP-Petaling Jaya Utara) despite numerous criticisms and calls that he be dropped from the committee following his comments about 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB) and the claims that he had leaked documents on the PAC investigation into the company. — Bernama