Sixty-seven telecommunication towers upgraded


KUCHING: Another forty-eight telecommunication towers have been upgraded throughout Sarawak as last month, bringing to 67 such upgraded towers thus far.

The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) in a press statement Thursday said a total of 349 community WiFi (formerly known as ‘Kampung Tanpa Wayar’) were now functioning compared to 163 locations previously.

The upgrading work on telecommunication towers and community wifi in other areas are on-going and will be completed according to plan.

The telecommunication towers that have been upgraded comprise 11 in Kapit, seven in Sri Aman, six in Bintulu, six in Limbang, four in Lawas, four each in Niah-Suai and Saratok, three each in Bau, Belaga, Kanowit, Lundu, Sibu and Song, two each in Pakan and Dalat while Betong, Lubok Antu and Padawan has one each.

As for the 349 community wifi locations, they are 67 in Kuching, 31 in Serian, 25 in Miri, 21 in Sri Aman, 19 in Limbang, 17 in Asajaya, 16 in Lawas, 13 in Daro, 12 each in Saratok and Samarahan, 11 in Sarikei, 10 in Bintulu, nine each in Sibu, Lundu, Lubok Antu, and Kanowit, eight each in Dalat, Betong and Simunjan, seven in Meradong, five each in Selangau and Mukah, four each in Bau and Marudi, three each in Tatau and Julau, two in Belaga, and one each in Matu and Pakan.