Friday, March 22

New assistant ministers take oath of office



KUCHING: All the new faces speculated by The Borneo Post were among the state assemblypersons who were sworn in as assistant ministers at the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) Complex this morning (May 19).

Marudi assemblyman Datu Dr Penguang Manggil, Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi (Pantai Damai), Sharifah Hasidah Sayeed Ghazali (Samariang), Dr Annuar Rapaee (Nangka), Malcom Mussen Lamoh (Batang Ai) and Dr Abdul Rahman Ismail (Bukit Kota) are now confirmed assistant ministers in the new state cabinet lineup.

Also sworn in today as assistant minister was Tarat assemblyman Datuk Roland Sagah Wee Inn, who previously was the Deputy Speaker of the DUN.

Dato Gerawat Gala (Mulu) will be the new Deputy Speaker of DUN replacing Sagah.

They joined 11 other assemblypersons who have been reappointed as assistant ministers, namely Datuk Naroden Majais (Gedong), Datuk John Sikie Tayai (Kakus), Datuk Francis Harden (Simanggang), Datuk Talib Zulpilip (Jepak), Datuk Lee Kim Shin (Senadin), Liwan Lagang (Belaga), Datuk Len Talif (Kuala Rajang), Datuk Dr Jerip Susil (Mambong), Datuk Julaihi Narawi (Sebuyau), Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah(Asajaya) and Rosey Yunus (Bekenu).

Their portfolios would be made known at a press conference later today.

They took their oath in front of Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, witnessed by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem at a ceremony which took place at 11am today.

They then adjourned for lunch at the DUN lobby. Also present were the three deputy chief ministers and cabinet ministers.