Tuesday, January 21

CIDB fetes outstanding construction excellence at MCIEA 2016


KUALA LUMPUR: Gamuda Bhd (Gamuda) and industry stalwarts, Ahmad Zaki Sdn Bhd chairman Datuk (Prof) Seri Abdul Rahman and WCT Holdings managing director and co-founder Taing Kim Hwa, led the honour roll at the prestigious Malaysian Construction Industry Excellence Awards (MCIEA) 2016.

The annual awards that celebrate excellence in Malaysia’s construction industry are a regular feature by the Construction Industry  Development Board (CIDB) Malaysia since 2000. MCIEA 2016 has six award categories, namely Builder of the Year, Individual Awards, International Achievement, Best Project, Best Contractor and Special Awards.

Gamuda lifted the ‘Builder of the Year’ trophy presented by Works Minister, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof at the awards gala also attended by CIDB Malaysia chairman Tan Sri Dr Ahmad Tajuddin Mohd Ali and chief executive Datuk Ir Ahmad Asri Abdul Hamid and some 1,000 industry figures.

Gamuda is synonymous with several of the country’s most recognisable projects such as the SMART Tunnel in Kuala Lumpur, Ipoh-Padang Besar double track electrified railway project, and Klang Valley mass rapid transit system.

Abdul Rahman, former Public Works Department deputy director-general, who also played a key role in founding CIDB, was named as the Most Prominent Player while Taing won the CEO of the Year.

Minconsult Sdn Bhd executive director Datuk Ir Rosaline Ganendra shared the limelight as the winner of the Construction Leading Lady Award.

UEM Construction Sdn Bhd stood out with the International Achievement Award for the construction of the Cikampek-Palimanan highway stretching 116.75 kilometres (km) across Indonesia’s most populated province of West Java.

In the Best Project building category, the 50-level and Green Building Index-certified Naza Tower Platinum Park in Kuala Lumpur was judged the best major project award (over RM100 million). It was undertaken by Naza Engineering & Construction Sdn Bhd and IJM Construction Sdn Bhd.

The medium project award (RM20 million to RM100 million) went to By The Sea in Batu Ferringhi, Penang, by Builtech Project Management Sdn Bhd. The small project award (below RM20 million) went to Masjid Ara Damansara in Petaling Jaya constructed by FNA Builders & Services Sdn Bhd.

In the ‘Best Project Infrastructure’ category, the Murum Junction 275/33 kilovolt (kv) Substation in Belaga, Sarawak, by Pestech Sdn Bhd, and The Rafflesia Central Pond in Damansara Perdana, Selangor by Tropicana Innovative Landscape Sdn Bhd were named medium project and small project award winners respectively.

The honours in the Best Contractor Awards went to Lagenda Ria Enterprise (Grade G1), Permata Bactris Enterprise (Grade G2), Rohana Nursery & Trading Sdn Bhd (Grade G3), Luibina Enterprise (M) Sdn Bhd (Grade G4), Potensi Terus Industries Sdn Bhd (Grade G5) and Maysville Sdn Bhd (Grade G6).

Setia Precast Sdn Bhd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of SP Setia Bhd, clinched the Special Award for industrialised building system (IBS) with the construction of the low and medium costs Seri Jati Apartment in Setia Alam, Selangor using the pre-fabricated technology.

The Special Award for innovation was won by engineering provider, Sea Horse Services Sdn Bhd, for its KON-TAC Insert In Pipe Corrosion Protection that addresses rust and deterioration in pipes caused by friction.

The award winners and special mention recipients were selected by a 10-member panel headed by Tan Sri Dr Ir Jamilus Hussein, chairman of KLIA Premier Holdings Sdn Bhd.

The other panel members are Datuk Seri Sri Kandan Kanagainthiram of KPK Quantity Surveyors (Semenanjung) Sdn Bhd, Datuk Ng Seing Liong of Kota Kelang Development Sdn Bhd, Datuk Azlan Abd Karim of Putrajaya Holdings Sdn Bhd, Datuk Ir Ismail Salleh of Malaysian Highway Authority, Tan Sri Ar Esa Mohamed of Akitek Jururancang (M) Sdn Bhd, Datuk Ir Mohtar Musri of Development of Occupational Safety & Health, Haji Alhadi Ibrahim of Konsortium Malaysia, Datuk Ag Buhtamam Ag Mahmun of Sedafiat Sdn Bhd and Datuk Ir Adanan Mohamed Hussain of Board of Engineers Malaysia.