Curfew in ESSZone waters extended to June 23


Credit Graphic Image:

KOTA KINABALU: The period of the dusk-to-dawn curfew in the waters off seven districts under the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) which ended today has been extended to June 23, said Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Ramli Din.

He said the curfew covered the waters off the Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran districts.

The curfew requires all residents in these districts to refrain from entering the waters between 6 pm and 6 am, he said in a statement here today.

“The curfew period has been extended to prevent intrusion of terrorists who threaten the security of international researchers and tourists visiting the resort islands,” he said.

Ramli said that based on investigations, the Abu Sayyaf and other militant groups in the southern Philippines attempted cross-border crimes including abductions.

He said the curfew was extended to ensure the security and well-being of Sabahans, especially those who used the waters.

The curfew also facilitated enforcement and the monitoring of boat movements to ensure the safety of and to give confidence to chalet operators and fishermen with the presence of security forces vessels in their areas, he said.

” I have also authorised all the relevant district police chiefs to issue permits to applicants who meet the conditions for fishing and other pressing needs in the areas under curfew,” he said. – Bernama