Thursday, April 25

Malaysian spikers 4th in Sibu international tourney


Abdul Karim (back row, sixth right) joins the winning Hong Kong team and organisers for a group photo.

SIBU: The Hong Kong national team beat Rangsit University of Thailand in straights sets 25-20, 25-22, 25-21 to emerge as champions in the final of the Sibu International Invitation Women’s Volleyball Championship on Sunday.

Tianjin University of Technology, China and the Malaysian national team finished third and fourth respectively.

The top four teams received cash prizes worth RM7,500, RM5,000, RM2,500 and RM1,000.

Beijing No.12 Middle School from China was the remaining team in the tournament.

Seven best individual awards worth RM300 each were also given out.

As expected Hong Kong grabbed three led by To Wing Lam (most valuable player), Chim Wing Lam of Hong Kong (best server) and Tsui Ka Yee (best libero).

Thailand’s Nattakam Heathong was adjudged the best receiver and Pimpaka Rattansairi best setter.

China and Malaysia each won an individual title with Liu Qing Chao of Tianjin University of Technology emerging as the best blocker while Low Mei Cing of the host nation was the best spiker.

Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah officiated at the closing ceremony.

The tournament, organised by Sibu Volleyball Association at its Indoor Stadium in Rejang Park, provided a platform for the Malaysian national team in its final preparations for next month’s 29th SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur.