Friday, March 22

Petros names Hamid Bugo chairman


Former State Secretary tasked to head state’s petroleum company, heads 5-member board

Profiles of the board of directors

KUCHING: The Chief Minister’s Office yesterday announced the appointment of Tan Sri Datuk Amar Dr Hamid Bugo as  chairman of the newly formed Petroleum Sarawak Berhad (Petros).

Hamid is a former state secretary who once served with Malaysia LNG Sdn Bhd in Bintulu.

The other board members are Dato Mohammad Medan Abdullah, Sharbini Suhaili, Zuraimi Sabki and Heng Hock Cheng.

On August 11, in the headline story “Who are the pioneering five?”, The Borneo Post took an educated guess of the Petros Board Members, among those speculated are Medan and Heng.

The chief minister expressed his confidence in the composition of the Board of Petros as they are all experienced industry professionals with very strong and proven track records, and had served in key positions in the oil and gas industry.

The appointment of a credible Board will ensure that Petros will advance in the right strategic direction as well as operating with a sound business model in achieving its intended objectives.

The primary objective of setting up Petros is to enable Sarawak to participate in the upstream oil and gas development, particularly in the exploration and extraction of oil and gas within Sarawak’s waters.

This initiative is also in line with Sarawak’s aspiration to create better job opportunities for local talents and attract Sarawak talents and expertise currently serving outside the state.

Petros could also serve as a good platform to groom more entrepreneurs to support the growth and innovations of high value-added industries in the state.

Petros is now embarking on a head hunt for its CEO and other key management positions to enable it to be operation ready by the first quarter of 2018.


Profiles of the board of directors

Tan Sri Datuk Amar Dr Hamid Bugo

Tan Sri Datuk Amar Dr Hamid Bugo has served as director in a number of public and private organisations in Malaysia including the Malaysia Airlines Bhd, Employees Provident Fund (EPF) and Malaysia LNG Sdn Bhd.

He is the chairman of Sarawak Library Management Board. He is also active in charity work through his capacity as Sarawak chairman of National Islamic Development Foundation (Yakin) and board member of Sarawak State Mosques Welfare Trust Board (LAKMNS). He is also the board member of the Malaysian Integrity Institution Council, member of Excellent People Group for Malaysia-Indonesia, member of the advisory committee of Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission and National Water Services Commission.

Hamid holds an honorary PhD in Commerce from the Lincoln University (New Zealand), BA in Economics from Canterbury University (UK), Post-Graduate Diploma in Teaching from Christchurch Teachers College (New Zealand), and post-graduate Certificate in Business Studies from Harvard Institute of Development Studies (US).

Sharbini Suhaili

Sharbini Suhaili is the chief executive officer of Sarawak Energy Bhd, following his appointment on Nov 1 last year. He has served as the vice-president (health, safety and environment) of Petroliam Nasional Bhd.

His exposure in the global oil and gas industry began with the Royal Dutch Shell in 1986 as its pipeline engineer – since then, he had been involved in many aspects and capacities under Shell such as senior roles in commercial, planning, strategic and business development areas.

He was the general manager (upstream operations) at Sabah Shell Malaysia, before joining Petronas in 2010 as its vice-president (international production for upstream operations).

Mohammad Medan Abdullah

Mohammad Medan Abdullah is the chief executive officer of Bintulu Port Holdings Bhd. He holds chairmanship at Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Petrofibre Network (M) Sdn Bhd, Petronas Hartabina Sdn Bhd, Petrosains Sdn Bhd, Prbf Properties Sdn Bhd, and Sanzbury Stead Sdn Bhd.

He is a member of Malaysian Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators and International Bar Association. He has served on the board of Malaysian Jet Services Sdn Bhd, Petronas ICT Sdn Bhd, Petronas LNG Ltd and Petronas Property Holdings Sdn Bhd.

He has also served as non-independent, non-executive director of Petronas Gas Bhd and Petronas Dagangan Bhd; senior general manager (group corporate affairs) Petroliam Nasional Bhd, and chairman of Petronas Assets Sdn Bhd, on the board of Prince Courth Medical Centre Sdn Bhd.

Mohammad Medan holds a degree from Universiti Malaya.

Heng Hock Cheng

Heng Hock Cheng served as managing director of Shell Gas & Power Malaysia before his retirement from Shell in October 2006 after 34 years of service encompassing areas of upstream, downstream as well as gas and power divisions. He served with various Shell entities in Malaysia, the UK, Holland and China.

He was the manufacturing superintendent of Lutong Refinery; engineering manager / technical director of Sarawak Shell Bhd / Sabah Shell Petroleum Co Ltd; and chairman of Shell China based in Beijing. He serves as independent non-executive director of Malaysia Marine & Heavy Engineering Sdn Bhd and Petronas Gas Bhd.

He serves as a director of AET Tankers Holdings Sdn Bhd, AET Shipmanagement (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd and AET Shipmanagement (Singapore) Pte Ltd. Cheng serves as an independent director of Otto Marine Ltd (Singapore). He has been independent non-executive director of Shell Refining Company (Federation of Malaya) Bhd since April 1, 2016.  He had served as an independent non-executive director of Malaysia Marine And Heavy Engineering Holdings Bhd – a Malaysian public listed company – from June 15, 2010 to April 19, 2017.  He served as independent non-executive director of Hengyuan Refining Company Bhd from April 1, 2016 to June 1, 2017. He holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons) Degree in Chemical Engineering from University of Birmingham, UK in 1972.

Zuraimi Sabki

Zuraimi Sabki is the Sarawak director of Public Works Department (JKR). Previously, he was chief executive officer/general manager for Brooke Dockyard and Engineering Works Corporation (Brooke Dockyard). He served in Shell in the early years of his career.

Zuraimi is also a board member of Brooke Dockyard.