Wednesday, March 20

Everyone’s responsibility to protect environment – CM


KOTA KINABALU: Chief Minister Tan Sri Musa Aman called on the people in Sabah to safeguard Sabah’s environment and stop pushing the responsibility to the government.

He said Sabah’s rich biodiversity, unique flora and fauna, beautiful islands and beaches, forests and mountains are a natural heritage that generated income for the state.

“All of these factors, coupled with a clean and preserved environment, and with big potential of attracting tourist arrivals will improve our economy.

“It is important that we work together to ensure that our environment continues to be preserved even though we are on a rapid development path in Sabah,” stressed Musa.

“I would like to urge all Sabahans to play their respective responsibilities and be more committed in safeguarding and preserving the environment in Sabah.

“This is to ensure the survival of present and future generations through environmental care activities on an ongoing basis,” he emphasized.

Musa’s address was delivered by Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Masidi Manjun during the state and Kota Kinabalu City level World Environment Day (HASN) 2017 at Lintasan Deasoka here yesterday.

At the event, which was themed: “Alam Sekitar, Tanggungjawab Kita Bersama” (Environment, together our responsibility), Masidi also presented the HASN 2017 awards.

Institut Sinaran bagged the HASN Special Award 2017 for the Higher Education Institute category and the educator category, which were brought home by its CEO cum principal Marie Wong Pik Hua.

Sabah Wetlands Conservation Society took the HASN Special Award 2017 for the non-governmental organization category, whilst SHELL Malaysia and Repsol Oil & Gas Malaysia Limited each received an award in the private company category.

Meanwhile, Kampung Jawa Kongsi 10 in Tawau, Kampung Kilimu in Ranau, Kampung Suasa in Beaufort, Kampung Jawi-Jawi in Kota Belud, and Kampung Sebait in Sandakan all received the RM3,000 Kampung Lestari Award prize.

Kota Kinabalu City Hall (DBKK) was winner of this year’s E-Waste Household Collection Competition, bringing home RM3,000 in cash prize, whilst Zone E (Penampang and Putatan District Councils) and Zone B (Keningau and Nabawan district councils) won RM2,000 and RM1,000 in cash prizes respectively.

Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister and minister in charge of DBKK, Datuk Edward Yong Oui Fah, and Mayor Datuk Yeo Boon Hai were also in attendance.