Tuesday, March 19

Rentap HC win Betong Indoor Hockey Championship


Players and officials of Rentap HC pose with their medals and trophy after winning the men’s category.

Women’s Open champions Sibu Jaya with Awang Mazelan (centre).

BETONG: Rentap HC were crowned champion of the Betong Indoor Hockey Championship 2017 after defeating Kedit HC in extra time at Betong Mini Stadium recently.

After drawing 2-2 at normal time, Fairul Nizam Gani became Rentap HC hero after scoring the golden goal to settle the tie.

Third place went to Kabong HT while Spaoh HC finished fourth.

Meanwhile, Sibu Jaya emerged champion in the women’s  open category. A total of 30 teams participated in the championship played in a league format. It was organised by the Rentap Hockey Club Betong and Ministry of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports (KPKKBS) in conjunction with state level National Sports Day 2017 from Oct 14 to 15.

KPKKBS Betong Divisional Officer Awang Mazelan Awang Majid gave away the prizes and certificates to the winners.