Saturday, May 30

Saberkas to collaborate with Tegas on digital economy


KUCHING: Saberkas will work closely with Tabung Ekonomi Gagasan Anak Bumiputera Sarawak (Tegas) to help develop the state’s digital economy.

Its secretary general Abdullah Saidol, who is also Assistant Minister of Corporate Affairs, said the partnership will be among the future directions of Saberkas to see more youths in the state benefitting from the development of digital economy.

“Saberkas does not want to be left out of whatever plans that will be rolled out by the Tegas Digital Innovation Hub which will have a direct role in digitising the state’s economy,” he said when Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi handed over the duty of secretary-general to him at Saberkas Office here yesterday.

Dr Abdul Rahman, also Assistant Minister of Rural Electricity, is now Saberkas vice president.

Abdullah said he aspired to turn Saberkas into a beacon of unity in Sarawak.

He added that Saberkas activities would centre on the elements of unity to curb negative influence through the use of social media.

“We need to have youths who place unity above all and reject extremism and individuals who always paint bad image of others and make accusations against others,” he said.

Abdullah said Saberkas would not overlook the aspects of culture and arts in the hope of promoting cultural development among the youths.

He added that Saberkas would seek collaboration with the Education, Science and Technological Research Ministry and Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Ministry towards this end.

He said he also wanted youths in the state, be they from the rural or urban areas, to better understand their respective lifestyles and the choices that they have.

“I want youths in the city to understand the lifestyle led by youths in the rural areas while rural youths should learn to be more competitive and open-minded like their counterparts in the city.”

Meanwhile, Abdullah, who was given the mandate by Saberkas president, also announced the names of three more vice presidents.

The three Saberkas vice presidents are Assistant Minister of Water Supply and Belaga assemblyman Datuk Liwan Lagang, Piasau assemblyman Datuk Sebastian Ting and Kedup assemblyman Martin Ben.