KUCHING: Ten teams including four girls teams will be taking part in the Sarawak Sports Corporation/Sarawak State Sports Council inter-centre of development for hockey competition at the Sarawak Hockey Stadium along Jalan Padungan from Nov 11-12.

The boys teams are SMK Penrissen, SMK Bau and SMK Bako from Kuching, SMK Serian and SMK Tebakang from Serian and SMK Kabong from Betong while the girls teams comprise SMK St Columba of Miri, SMK Sebauh of Bintulu, SMK Spaoh of Betong and SMK BAy from Kuching.

SSC coordinator for hockey Beatrice Sawin said the main objective of the competition was to unearth new talents to be groomed into calibre players for the state squads.

“It provides a platform for the centres of development to display their skills and in a way will serve to gauge their abilities and standard.

“This competition will enable the centres to pit their skills against each other as they need competitions and exposure to improve further,” she added.

Beatrice said the nine-a-side competition would be something that the players will be eagerly looking forward to after putting in much hard work and commitment in their training.