Sasa emerge as inter-club champs


The overall champions and their team manager Basil Ngui (seventh right) with Wee (ninth left) deputy president Alice Kwon (right) Basa president Ong Yung Ching (fourth left) and Bintulu Development Authority deputy general manager Abdullah Mohd Sheriff (fifth left) after the prize presentation.

BINTULU: Sibu Amateur Swimming Association (Sasa) emerged as the runaway winners of the Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr Wong Soon Kai Inter-Club Swimming Championship that ended at the Bintulu Public Swimming Pool yesterday.

They virtually led from start to finish to capture 27 gold, 27 silver and 13 bronze medals to amass 746 points and topped the 13-team competition hosted by Bintulu Amateur Swimming Association (Basa) and organised by the Amateur Swimming Association of Sarawak (Asas).

Sasa were also the overall champions in 2012, 2014 and 2015.

Apart from lifting the challenge trophy, Sasa also walked away with five best swimmer awards through Kilian Ung Shihuang in the Boys Group 1 (15-17 years), Nicholas Yek Yi Zhe in the Boys Group 3 (11-12 years, Brian Lu Yek Hong in the Boys Group 5 (8 years and Under), Adeline Lau Jaw Ling in Girls Group 3 (11-12 years) and Ivy Ning Chai Yun in the Girls Group 4 (9-10 years).

Kuching Amateur Swimming Association (Kasa) 2010 finished second overall with 398.5 points after bagging five gold, eight silver and 14 bronze medals while defending champions Sea Dragon Swimming Club from Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, who fielded a smaller team this year, managed a third placing with 337 points.

Kota Samarahan Amateur Swimming Association collected 312.5 points to pip newcomers Power Aquatic Swimming Club by one point to the fourth placing.

In sixth to 13th spots were Gymkhana Club Miri (281.5), Serian Amateur Swimming Association (194), Miri Amateur Swimming Association (169), Basa (145), Kelab Rekreasi Petroliam (136.5), Dashing Dolphins Swimming Club (67), Persatuan Renang Labuan (46) and Sailfish Aquatic Athletics Centre (34.5).

Other best boy swimmers were Eddy Yong of Basa in Group 2 (13-14 years) and Hii Puong Jie of Kotas in Group 4 (9-10 years).

Masa’s Leong Wan Mei took the best swimmer award in Girls Group 1 (15-17 years) while Rachel Chang from Kotas was best swimmer of Girls Group 2 (13-14 years) and KRP’s Annabelle Frederic was Girls Group 5 (8 years and Under) best swimmer.

Meanwhile, two more records were broken yesterday, with 16-year old Leong Wan Mei of Masa posting a new time of 32.66s in the Girls Group A 50m backstroke, erasing the old time of 33.24s set by her sister Wan Ying in 2013, and Annabelle Frederic creating her second record in the meet in the Girls Group 5 50m freestyle by clocking 34.39s against the old time of 36.41s set by Kelly Teo in 2015.

Asas president Dato Wee Hong Seng closed the event and gave away the main prizes.