Thursday, May 23

18 shuttlers to fly state flag at national school badminton c’ship


The selected shuttlers with Faustino (fifth right, back row), Ting (sixth right) and other officials.

SARIKEI : Eighteen shuttlers have been selected to represent the state at the Malaysian Schools Sports Council (MSSM) Badminton Championship in Negeri Sembilan from March 20 to 24.

They were champions in their respective aged groups during the state-level School Sports council (MSSS) Badminton Championship held at SMK Tinggi’s Hall from Feb 6 to 8.

Three shuttlers in the girls under-18 category are Adrienne Chan Yi Ning and Lloyderyena Xalfira Simon from Miri (doubles), and Flora Fong Xin jie (singles and mixed doubles).

The boys under-18 are Andy Ngu and Jordan Lee from Sibu (doubles), Danny Lee from Samarahan (singles) and mixed doubles pair Barrie Chong from Kuching.

Players for the boys under-15 are Pui Wee Young (singles and doubles) and Joshua Voon (doubles), while the girls are Kashley Kho (singles and doubles) and Olivia Hiu (doubles). All are from Kuching.

Three shuttlers in the boys under-12 are Miri’s Bernard Russel Bayan (singles) and doubles pair Dexter Ong/Shawn Hiu from Kuching.

The girls under-12 is consist of Sarikei’s doubles pair ofLei yi Ling/Marion Chiew Magdalene, and Miri duo Angel Chin (singles) and Genevie Lim.

The line-up was announced by the selection committee during the closing ceremony of the three-day championship on Thursday.

Among those present were Assistant District Education Officer Faustino Frederick Emperan, representative from State Education Department’s Sports Unit and Principal of SMK Tinggi Ting Sing Teck, who is also the competition’s organising chairman.