Tuesday, September 27

Second term as Head of State


Taib signs the appointment letter, witnessed by Abang Johari and Yew (right). — Penerangan Photo

Taib signs instrument of office for another four-year term as TYT, witnessed by CM, High Court judge

KUCHING: Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud was sworn in as Yang di-Pertua Negeri for the second term at the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) complex here yesterday.

He signed the ‘Surat Sumpah Jawatan’ and ‘Surat Pengisytiharaan’, witnessed by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg and Kuching High Court Judge Datuk Yew Jen Kie.

The ceremony commenced with the reading of the letter of appointment of Yang diPertua Negeri by the chief minister.

During the same ceremony, the Head of State also received the guard of honour from the 11th Battalion of General Operations Force (PGA) Kuching, which consisted of 105 officers and police personnel.

Taib, 81, first received his instrument of appointment to continue his service for four years from the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at the Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur on Feb 7.

On March 1, 2014, Taib was sworn in as the seventh Yang di-Pertua Negeri after stepping down as chief minister on Feb 28, 2014.

He was the fourth chief minister, having held the post for 33 years since March 26, 1981 after he succeeded his uncle Tun Abdul Rahman Ya’kub.

The eldest of 10 siblings, Taib was born on May 21, 1936 to Mahmud Abang Yahya and Hamidah Ya’kub.

Taib served as a judge’s associate in the Supreme Court of South Australia after having completed his law studies at the University of Adelaide, before returning to Sarawak.

He entered the political arena in 1963 when he joined the Sarawak Legislative Council and served until 1966.

He was appointed  Sarawak Minister for Communication and Works and Minister of Development and Forestry before entering politics at the federal level until he became chief minister.

Taib’s wife Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Raghad Kurdi Taib, Abang Johari’s wife Datin Patinggi Dato Juma’ani Tun Tuanku Bujang, DUN Speaker Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar, state cabinet ministers and dignitaries were among those present during the ceremony.