Wednesday, July 17

Amanah Sarawak to use PKR logo, state DAP to decide today


KUCHING: Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) Sarawak has decided to follow its national counterparts by contesting under the PKR logo in the 14th general election.

Amanah Sarawak chairman Fidzuan Zaidi said yesterday all of the party’s candidates in the state will be using the PKR logo.

He explained the step is taken following Pakatan Harapan chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s announcement in Johor Bahru on Friday night that all PH candidates from the four component parties will contest under the PKR banner and logo.

Fidzuan also said Amanah Sarawak will contest five to six seats in GE14, but that he will leave the announcement to be made after a PH Sarawak meeting sometime next week.

Meanwhile, DAP Sarawak chairman Chong Chieng Jen is holding a press conference today (April 8) at the party’s headquarters in Kuching where he is likely to announce the symbol to be used by the party.

Chong has so far yet to commit an answer when asked whether DAP Sarawak will follow its national counterparts in using PKR’s logo as the common symbol for GE14.

The party’s secretary-general Lim Guan Eng has been quoted as saying DAP Sarawak, as well as DAP Sabah, are given the autonomy to decide whether they will use its traditional ‘rocket’ symbol on its ballot papers for the election or otherwise.

Lim is also quoted to have said the party’s Sarawak and Sabah chapters are different because they have autonomy, and they respect the situation in Sabah and Sarawak.

PH cannot use its official logo to contest in the polls as the Registrar of Societies refused to register it as a formal coalition.

This was due to investigations into component member Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM)’s first annual general meeting held last December, which eventually saw PPBM receiving a notice of 30-day suspension and thus ruling out use of its symbol.

Dr Mahathir, who is PPBM chairman, when announcing the use of PKR logo for PH candidates in this GE14 had also said it was not easy to convince all component parties to drop their own logo.

PH Sarawak, comprising DAP, PKR and Amanah, was officially formed in March last year to take on Barisan Nasional in all the 31 parliamentary seats in Sarawak.

Its meeting next week is likely to finalise seat allocation among these three components although party leaders have been saying the seat allocation formula from the 13th general election will be retained as status quo.

In GE13, PKR contested in 15 seats but only won one – Miri. DAP contested in 11 seats and won five – Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sibu, Lanang and Sarikei.

Amanah was not formed yet at that time, but will contest the five seats previously contested by PAS.