Saturday, October 31

Mohamad, KJ and Shaziman to defend Rantau, Rembau and Tampin seats


SEREMBAN: Negeri Sembilan Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan will defend his Rantau state seat, which he has held since 2004, in the 14th General Election (GE14).

When announcing the Negeri Sembilan BN’s list of candidates for the GE14 at his official residence here today, Mohamad also announced that BN Youth chairman Khairy Jamaluddin and State Umno Liaison Committee deputy chairman Datuk Seri Shaziman Abu Mansor would also defend their respective Rembau dan Tampin parliamentary seats.

Khairy has held the Rembau for two terms since 2008, while Shaziman has held Tampin seat for four terms since 1999.

Malaysian Ambassador to Cambodia Datuk Seri Hasan Malek was also listed to defend his Kuala Pilah parliamentary seat, which he has held since 2004.

Also in the list was 41-year-old motivational speaker, Syamsul Amri Ismail, or popularly known as Syamsul Debat, named as BN’s candidate to contest Sikamat state seat.

Acting chairman of Land Public Transport Commission, who is Umno chief for Port Dickson (formerly Telok Kemang) Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad, however, was dropped from the candidates’ list. His Jempol parliamentary seat will be contested by Jempol Umno division chief Datuk Mohd Salim [email protected] Sharif.

Fourteen other incumbents were also listed to contest in the GE14. — Bernama