Thursday, August 22

Two MPs, ex-federal minister among six Sarawak politicians joining PKR


Zuraida (centre) and Baru (on her left) in a photo-call with PKR’s new members – Entulu (third left), Sng (fourth left), Jugah (fourth right) and Entri (third right). — Bernama photo

KUCHING: Six political figures from the state, including two parliamentarians, have joined Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR).

According to PKR Women chief Zuraidah Kamaruddin, former federal minister Datuk Joseph Entulu Belaun is among the six politicians.

This was announced during a press conference in Cheras, near Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

Entulu was the deputy president of Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) but was sacked from the party on April 22 for disobedience over its candidacy list for the May 9 parliamentary election, as well as for ridiculing and putting the party into disrepute.

Meanwhile, the two  MPs  joining PKR are Jugah Muyang and Larry Sng Wei Shien, the Independent candidates who won Lubok Antu and Julau parliamentary seats, respectively, last week.

The other three new PKR members from Sarawak are former Marudi assemblyman Datuk Sylvester Entry Muran, Robert Lingga Mangge and Tony Khoo.

When contacted last night, Entulu confirmed the news and said he would explain to his supporters in Sarawak why he and Jugah made this move.

“Hopefully either on (this coming) Friday or Saturday, I intend to have a big gathering. I would invite all my supporters from across Sarawak to my longhouse Rumah Jangit, Sungai Igu (in Tamin, Selangau) and explain to them the situation – at the same time, (I would) launch a membership drive,” he said.

In the just-concluded election, PKR secured four parliamentary seats in the state – Miri, Selangau, Saratok and Puncak Borneo.

The addition of Lubok Antu and Julau increased its number of parliamentary seats in the state to six.