Sunday, April 21

State cabinet to be announced today


Christina, Jaujan, Junz, Peter, Stephen, Madius

KOTA KINABALU: The new Sabah Chief Minister, Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal, is expected to announce his cabinet today.

It is possible that six nominated assemblymen will be appointed to join the State Cabinet.

Shafie’s cabinet is expected to be sworn in before the Head of State Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at 3pm today.

For Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan), it is expected that Sulabayan assemblyman Datuk Jaujan Sambakong, and three other leaders will be part of the cabinet.

Meanwhile, United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) president cum Tuaran member of parliament (MP), Datuk Seri Panglima Wilfred Madius Tangau, who was the first to announce the departure of his party from Barisan Nasional (BN) to join Warisan, will possibly be nominated as assemblyman to enable his appointment in the State Cabinet.

Melalap assemblyman Datuk Peter Anthony (Warisan) and another non-Muslim bumiputera assemblyman could be in the cabinet line-up as well.

The new cabinet could see three Chinese ministers, including Tanjong Aru assemblyman Junz Wong (Warisan), Tawau member of parliament cum Api-Api assemblywoman Christina Liew (PKR), and Sandakan member of parliament Stephen Wong (DAP) who could possibly be appointed as assemblyman.

One of the three Chinese cabinet members stand a chance to be appointed as Deputy Chief Minister of Sabah.

Shafie recently said that two new state ministries would be formed while the state government departments would also be restructured.

Meanwhile, Warisan deputy president cum Penampang MP Darell Leiking, and the party’s Youth chief cum Sepanggar MP, Datuk Azis Jamman, are expected to be appointed to the Federal Cabinet led by new Prime Minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Shafie was sworn in as Chief Minister of Sabah before the Head of State, Tun Juhar Mahiruddin, on May 12.

Yesterday, Shafie indicated that his cabinet line-up will be sworn in ‘soon’.

“Soon,” he replied before rushing off to Istana Negeri, after officiating at the Majlis Ru’yah Hilai Rasmi Ramadhan, Syawal dan Zulhijjah and Majlis Ru’yah Hilai Ramadhan 1439H/2018M at Balai Cerup Al-Biruni Negeri Sabah, at Tanjung Dumpil yesterday evening.