Monday, May 20

Sarawak cycling body outlines strategy for future activities


Dato Benjamin Hasbie (seated centre) with the office-bearers after the annual general meeting.

KUCHING: The Sarawak Cycling Association (SCA) under the leadership of its president Dato Benjamin Hasbie has outlined its strategic focus and integrating strategy as a road map for its future activities.

They include capacity building of all fronts of cycling towards nurturing aspiring champions; cycling as a healthy lifestyle to help reduce carbon footprints and forging unity and harmony through cycling fanatical community programme.

“SCA will also be leveraging on technology in both arts and science to develop cycling Centre of Excellence and staging and organising cycling events of international standing,” the association said in a press statement.

It added that the main objectives of the association are too promote, encourage and develop cycling sport in Sarawak; plan a sustainable development of cycling athletes, officials, coaches and to scout for new talents; select athletes to represent Sarawak in any national cycling championship; and to represent Sarawak in the recognised organising bodies for cycling sports events.

“The president Dato Benjamin also stated during the recent annual general meeting that effective from July 1, all transactions pertaining to the development of cycling; cycling competitions and events; requirement for technical officials; or any other cycling related matters should be channelled and referred to the SCA through the respective Divisional Cycling Association for coordination and sanction.

As part of its AGM’s activities, the presentation of the Certificate of Cycling Coach Level 1 Specific Course to 23 participants was held.

The ceremony was officiated by Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah.

Meanwhile, Mohd Hairulnizam Mohd Zamri (Samarahan) was elected as the deputy president while the appointed vice presidents are Yanto Kadri (operation) and Irawan Sudarsono (administration).

The secretary is Ahmad Jumry Kassim and the treasurer is Dr Shahrizal Hashim.

Committee members are Osman Adam (Kuching), Anis Madeli (Betong), Samuri Sahid and Jamal Abdullah (Mukah), Zulkipli Mahlee and Abdul Kadir Hossen (Bintulu).