Monday, August 10

Hong Kong’s kegler denies Koreans gold clean sweep


TPB8 men’s singles winners (from left) Zahidi Lamsah, Shin Baek Ho and Kwon Min Kyu pose with their medals.

TPB4 singles mixed medallists (from left) Youk Kyeun Bum, Elsa Maris and Oh Ban Seok celebrate their achievement after the medals presentation. — Photos by Teo Chi Wei

KUCHING: The South Korean contingent continued to blaze the lanes at Megalanes Sarawak, Batu Kawa yesterday when they made another near clean sweep of gold medals at the Sarawak leg of World Para Bowling Tour.

They are already the uncrowned overall champions with three more gold medals yesterday, bringing their total gold medal haul to seven so far.

Shin Baek Ho won the TPB8 men’s singles gold when he knocked down 1,164 pins, finishing 92 pins ahead of Malaysian Zahidi Lamsah and another South Korean Kwon Min Kyu took the bronze with 1,000 pins.

Hong Kong’s Wong Mei Lan prevented the South Korean clean sweep when she won the TPB8 women’s singles by registering 868 pins to beat Min Kyoung A of South Korea, Siti Aminah of Indonesia and her compatriot Rohayati.

Elsa Maris delivered the first gold for Indonesia when she felled 1,308 pins, pipping the silver medallist from South Korea Youk Kyeun Bum by four pins in the TPB4 singles mixed and Oh Ban Seok took the bronze with 1,219 pins.

Sarawak’s Abang Yahya Abang Azhar was fourth in this category with 1,147 pins.

Meanwhile, South Korea made a clean sweep of the medals in the TPB1 & TPB2/3 doubles, with Kim Jung Hoon-Bae Jin Hyung grabbing the gold with 2,238 pins, Oh Taek Geun-Choi Jae Yeon the silver with 1,954 pins and Yang Hyun Kyung-Lee Jae Youn the bronze with 1952 pins.

The South Koreans also struck gold in the TPB10 & TPB10 Doubles through Hong Won Ju and Sim Jin Yong with a combined total score of 2,506 pins, while Filipinos Kin Ian Tan Chi-Samuel Linos Matias won the silver with 2,433 pins and Thai pair of Raiwin Phisittanakul and Chaiwat Achatongkum claimed the bronze with 2,275 pins.

More golds are at stake today and the competition will end tomorrow.