Tuesday, July 23

PH government can emulate taekwondo spirit, says Wong


Wong King Wei

KUCHING: The spirit of taekwondo can be emulated by the Pakatan Harapan (PH) federal government.

In pointing this out yesterday, Padungan assemblyman Wong King Wei said the new federal government had declared to Malaysians that they will not be involved in any abuse of position and power.

“I will not misuse Taekwondo. What a wonderful oath. This spirit of Taekwondo is something which leaders or those in position or power should emulate from.

“They should declare to the people that they will not misuse their power,” he said after oath-taking by students  when opening the International Taekwondo Federation (ITF) Inter-school Championship 2018 at CityONE Exhibition Centre here.

He was representing Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Chong Chieng Jen at the ceremony.

According to Wong, Taekwondo is not just a sport or about prizes and the honour contenders are going to win.

“It is about the spirit that we have to uphold to ensure that we will become a better person. As politicians and members of the (federal) government, we have to declare to our people that we will not misuse our position and power,” he said.

On behalf of Chong, he pledged a RM5,000 government grant for ITF Sarawak to carry out its activities.

Wong made it clear that the RM5,000 “is taxpayers’ money” rather than from the pocket of the deputy minister.

“I know that it is not a big sum but we have to be honoured and loyal to the fund that is entrusted to us. If we can honour something small, then we can do big things.”

On the championship, he said: “Winning or losing is secondary. It is more important to uphold the spirit of Taekwondo, not to misuse Taekwondo and practise high standard of the sport. And enjoy yourselves.”

Earlier, ITF Sarawak vice president Johnny Chai said the three-day championship serves as a platform for contenders to test their skills and further develop their mind, body and will.

Over 200 exponents from Perak, Selangor, Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak are taking part in the championship which concludes today (Aug 19).