Thursday, May 23

Soo: Anwar PM, Wan Azizah DPM?


Lina Soo

KUCHING: State Reform Party Sarawak (STAR) president Lina Soo finds it laughable that Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president-elect Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim should become prime minister while his wife Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, continues to be deputy prime minister.

Soo, however, said it would not surprise many people if such scenario would eventually happen.

Anwar and Wan Azizah already have a daughter in Parliament in Nurul Izzah the Permatang Pauh MP. Pandan MP Wan Azizah already made Malaysian history when she became the first female deputy prime minister, thanks to Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition for toppling the Barisan Nasional (BN) in the last parliamentary election to take over Putrajaya.

When contacted yesterday, Soo said she would not comment further on whether it would be good for the nation to be run by a ‘family-like’ leadership, despite it being ‘historic’ of sorts.

“What is surprising? The Mahathirs, the Lims and the Anwars (families) can do no wrong,” said Soo.

She was referring to the families of Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammad and Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng who are among those in the country having close family members in Parliament.

Larry Sng

Julau MP Larry Sng on the other hand welcomed the idea of Anwar becoming the next or eighth premier after Dr Mahathir, who is now 93, and who has held the record of becoming prime minister of Malaysia, twice (fourth and current one).

Sng is confident that everything about politics in the next few months would go according to plan.

“I support the move for a by-election to pave way for PKR president-elect Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to become an MP. This is in line with the succession plan for him to become the eighth prime minister,” said Sng, who is now a PKR member after winning Julau in the last parliamentary election on an independent ticket.

According to several national news articles, the Port Dickson parliamentary seat has been vacated to pave way for a by-election to be contested by Anwar.

Incumbent MP Datuk Danyal Balgopal Abdullah announced his intention to vacate the seat at a press conference at Petaling Jaya yesterday.

In the May 9 election he won Port Dickson with a thumping 17,740-vote majority against candidates from the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) and Parti Islam Se-Malaysia (PAS).