Saturday, March 23

Kuching, Padawan keglers eyeing AIBC honours


READY TO ROLL: Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah (centre) joins (from left) MTBC vice president and ABAS vice president Robert Lu, Asian Intercity Bowling Congress president Johnson Cheng, Kuching North City Commission mayor Datuk Abang Wahap Abang Julai, Assistant Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Snowdan Lawan, Sarawak Sports Corporation CEO Dr Ong Kong Swee and Megalanes Sarawak managing director Jackie Ting as he declares open the Asian Intercity Bowling Championship at Meagalanes Sarawak, E-Mart Batu Kawa yesterday. — Photo by Teo Chi Wei

KUCHING: No targets have been set for the Padawan and Kuching City teams who will carry Sarawak’s challenge in the 32nd Asian Intercity Bowling Championship (AIBC) starting today and ending on Sunday (Nov 4) at Megalanes Sarawak, E-Mart Bath Kawa.

Nevertheless, Padawan team manager Robert Lu believes both will give the other teams a good run for their money.

“We have recalled national keglers Nerosha Keligit Thiagarajan and Gillian Lim Siew Giok to boost our challenge in the Padawan women’s squad that included our Sukma bowlers Nur Aina Kamalia and Dayang Yumi Azreen Abang Azman.

“As for the men’s squad, we have 2015 masters gold medalist Christopher Tiong Lee Siong, Brandon Ting, Mohd Uzair Irsyad and Tsen Fan Yew,” said Lu.

All four were members of the Sarawak Sukma XIX squad.

Lu (left) with the Padawan men’s team. Photo on the right shows the women’s team.

Padawan is also represented by Edward Juit, Wagiman Kassim, Mohd Amran Mohd Sa’id and Abang Jamallidon Abang Ullie in the men’s senior and Datuk Raki’ah Ali, Nor Azizah Mohamad, Maimunah Arshad and Iyliana Abdullah in the women’s senior categories.

“We may have a chance with the seniors though,” added Lu who is ABAS vice president.

Kuching City, with ABAS deputy president Shaifulbahri Shukri as team manager, is fielding only the men’s and women’s teams.

The men’s team comprises Raphael Edward, Muhd Syazwan Datu Sajeli, Bremen Wong Win Keong and Abdul Rahman Mohamad while the women’s team consists of Caroline Chien, Nurafidza Mohd Amran, Fatrizeriah Jerawi and Nur Diyana Musa.

Lu said Paranaque City will be the team to watch out for as the Philippines team emerged as overall champions in the 29th AIBC also hosted by Kuching, Sarawak in 2015.

No team from Sarawak was sent to the AIBC in 2016 in Jakarta, Indonesia and 2017 in Yan Cheng City, China.

Yesterday, all the 14 teams took to the 42 lanes at Megalanes Sarawak for their official practice sessions which was followed by the opening ceremony in the afternoon.