Sunday, May 26

Meeting to relocate fire victims on Monday


Uda (3rd from right) handing over the donation to a representative of the fire victims.

KOTA KINABALU: The Putatan district natural disaster committee will be having a meeting on Monday to discuss the matter of relocating the Kampung Pasir Putih fire victims.

According to Petagas assemblyman Datuk Uda Sulai the meeting will also be discussing how long the Dewan Serbaguna will be used as the temporary relief centre for the 78 families who lost their homes in the fires last Friday.

“As for now the victims of the fire can still use the multipurpose hall as their temporary shelter. The committee will decide in the best interest of these families,” said the assistant minister of Law and Native Affairs today.

Uda was among the entourage of state assistant ministers and elected representatives from Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) who visited the victims at the temporary shelter in Putatan. They also handed out donations in cash and kinds.

Meanwhile Assistant minister to the Chief Minister Arifin Asgali when met by the media said the state Government will assist those who lost their identification documents in the fire.

“Many of them were unable to save their belongings as they were either at work or at Friday prayers. We will make sure that the Chief Minister’s Department which is managing the victims will assist those who lost their identification documents,” he said.

Education and Innovation assistant Minister Jenifer Lasimbang added that the ministry has recorded the number of students who were affected by the fire.

Jenifer chatting with one of the victims.

“There are 50 students in Primary and Secondary schools and the State Education Department has submitted its report so that they will be able to attend school,” she said and appluaded the department’s swift action on the matter.

Also in the entourage were assistant Health and Wellbeing Minister Norazlina Arif, assistant Agriculture and Food Industry minister Dr Daud Yusuf, assistant Trade and Industry minister Azhar Matussin, assistant Tourism, Culture and Environment minister Assaffal P. Alian and Papar Member of Parliament Ahmad Hassan.