Sunday, September 20

PH’s seat allocation formula in next state election not set in stone yet, says Baru


Baru Bian

KUCHING: The seat allocation formula for Pakatan Harapan in the next state election has not been finalised yet.

Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Sarawak chairman Baru Bian said a meeting was supposed to take place on Feb 24 to discuss the seats to be contested.

“We have not finalised (the seat allocation formula) yet. We are supposed to meet on Feb 24. We haven’t allocated (the seats),” he said when met at Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Chong Chieng Jen’s Chinese New Year open house here yesterday.

He seemed to disagree when asked whether PH Sarawak would stick to the formula agreed upon during the 2016 state election.

“I won’t say (we will) follow that (formula). But whatever it is, I will tell you when we meet after the discussion.”

Chong, who is also PH Sarawak chairman and Democratic Action Party (DAP) Sarawak chairman, was recently quoted as saying that PH will basically stick to the previous formula or arrangement, save for the six overlapping seats.

For the next state election, Chong had said DAP should stand in the three seats where it garnered more votes than PKR in the last election.

“Out of the three, three (were where) we did better (than PKR) – they are Mambong, Simanggang and Batu Kitang. The three that we did better (in), we get to stand there. The three (where) they (PKR) did better, they get to stand there. That’s the very logical formula (sic).”

In the 2016 state election, PKR contested in 40 seats and won three; DAP stood in 31 seats and won seven; while Amanah lost all 13 seats it contested in.

The state seats that PH Sarawak are presently holding are Batu Lintang, Krian and Ba Kelalan – all three under PKR; as well as Padungan, Pending, Kota Sentosa, Pelawan, Bukit Assek, Kidurong and Pujut – all under DAP.

Chong had also said it would be very likely for PH Sarawak component parties to use the PH logo in the next state polls.