Indie video contest meant to promote Sarawak further


Abdul Karim (seventh right), flanked by Abdul Wahab (sixth right) and Hii, joins Audry (fourth left) and other members of the organising committee in a photo-call with the finalists of the competition. — Photo by Muhammad Rais Sanusi

KUCHING: Nazmi Nasse Ruddin took home the grand prize of RM10,000 in an independent video competition themed ‘Sarawak: More to Discover’.

First and second runners-up was Chong Ee Vei and Jeremy Emang Jecky bagged RM5,000 and RM3,000, respectively, while the three consolation prize winners – Mohammed Alfiani Zizam Adeng and his team, Mohamad Faizuan Mat and his team, and Chai Teck Hua – pocketed RM500 each.

The prizes were presented by Minister of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah at Merdeka Plaza Shopping Mall here yesterday.

In his remarks, Abdul Karim said the competition was meant to promote Sarawak and its beauty, in line with the ‘Visit Sarawak’ campaign launched last Dec 31.

“The hosting of this competition is very appropriate as there are many talented Sarawakians, and they can showcase their talents.”

It is informed that the top videos from the competition would be used for promotions outside the country.

“These videos serve to show the world that there is so much more to see, do, eat and experience in Sarawak.

“We have many races here and each is unique, from the houses they live in like the Malay traditional ‘kampung’ houses, the Bidayuh have their ‘baruk’, the Ibans have their longhouses and so on.

“Even the food is different, but all these need to be documented and showcased to those outside the country,” said Abdul Karim, believing that all these aspects would encourage foreign tourists to come and visit Sarawak.

The competition, organised by Sarawak Tourism Federation (STF) in collaboration with Sarawak Tourism Board (STB), ran from Nov 3 to Dec 12.

Present at the prize-giving event were Tourism, Culture, Arts, Youth and Sports’s permanent secretary Hii Chang Kee, STB chairman Datuk Abdul Wahab Aziz, STF president Audry Wan Ullok and Plaza Merdeka general manager Cheah Kheng Mun.