Friday, July 30

TYT presents awards, medals to 163 recipients


Several of the award and medal recipients in a photocall with Taib (centre) after the presentation ceremony.

Taib presents the JBK award to Gracie. — Penerangan photos.

KUCHING: A total of 163 people received awards and medals from Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud at the Astana yesterday.

Leading the award recipients, who received the Darjah Johan Bintang Kenyalang (JBK), were Place Borneo Sdn Bhd director Gracie Veronica Geikie and a councillor of Sri Aman District Council, Sia Bik Jiu.

This was followed by recipients of the Pingat Pegawai Bintang Sarawak (PBS), namely Jasni Jubli, Profesor Dr Noor Azuan Abu Osman, Janggong Sambut and the late Mohamed Imran Narawi who was represented by Nur Huda Mohamad Narawi.

Ten people received the Darjah Pegawai Bintang Kenyalang (PBK); 31 received the Pingat Perkhidmatan Bakti (PPB); and 30 the Darjah Ahli Bintang Sarawak (ABS).

The Darjah Ahli Bintang Kenyalang (ABK) award went to 15 people, Pingat Perkhidmatan Terpuji (PPT) to 39 people and Darjah Bentara Bintang Sarawak (BBS) to 32 people.

Chairman of Sarawak Civil Service Commission Datu Abdul Ghafur Shariff was among those present at the event.